Vascular Birthmarks Foundation Forum

Vascular Birthmarks Foundation Forum (http://birthmark.org/board/index.php)
-   AVM Help and Resources (http://birthmark.org/board/forumdisplay.php?f=11)
-   -   VM victims, work or on disability? (http://birthmark.org/board/showthread.php?t=3872)

sqgiardino 06-04-2010 01:38 AM

VM victims, work or on disability?

hey everyone

im just curious how many of you work or on disability?
if you work, how do you find it? i have a VM in my leg and after i work ( or any kind of activity) i have to but my leg up and take it easy for the rest of the night because im in unbearable pain. Please share!

missy 06-04-2010 01:32 PM

Interesting question. I'll be curious to see all the responses.

Missy

CarlyJo 11-15-2010 05:34 AM

Hello,

My AVM is in my right ankle, and I know exactly what you mean about being in terrible pain after working. I am a full time student and I work. I can't avoid walking all over campus, but I try to find jobs where I don't have to be on my feet all day, and find that that helps sometimes. But yes, I've had to work jobs where I'm standing for eight hours and am immobile for the rest of the day, and even days after if its really bad. I wasn't even aware this condition was covered by disability, do we know for sure it is?

Carly

kaykay 11-28-2010 01:06 AM

i've been thinking of applying for disablitiy. its tiny. but atleast it will take care of my necessities until i can do something for myself. I dunno. i'm not really good at anything and lack confidence. trouble learning. I worry about having a job and getting sick. I like giving 100% of what i can.

nickbar 12-15-2010 02:26 PM

Some people do get disability, it depends on how muich the pain stops you from working.

To help with the pain.... Do you swim? Many vascular doctors recommend swimming 4-5 x per week for 30 min. and avoid warm water. The swimming helps with circulation. Avoid hot water. Compression stockings is something else you might want to consider