Timolol - your experience? And mine - Vascular Birthmarks Foundation Forum
  Vascular Birthmarks Foundation Hemangiomas  |  Port Wine Stains  |  Vascular Malformations  
VBF logo

1994 - 2014
Celebrating 20 years with
75,000 networked into treatment

Dr. Linda Rozell-Shannon, PhD President and Founder

VBF 20th Anniversary Gala Friday, October 10, 2014 in New York City

VBF 2014 Annual Conference Saturday, October 11, 2014 in New York City

Donate to VBF    Shop VBF Products

Go Back   Vascular Birthmarks Foundation Forum > Hemangioma Help > Help and Resources for Hemangiomas

Old 01-19-2012, 09:27 PM

Default Timolol - your experience? And mine

Hi everyone, this is my first time posting but I've been lurking here for a while. My daughter, who is 5 months, has a compound hemangioma on her scalp, right next to her soft spot. She was seen at the ped derm dept at Johns Hopkins in Baltimore about a month ago. They didn't recommend any treatment for her but to wait and see. At first I was fine with that -- I was mainly relieved to have been told not to worry about the H growing down through her soft spot into her brain! But of course I wanted more information, and that turned into spending the last month searching online for different treatment options for her. Eventually I read about Timolol, the ophthalmic beta blocker gel that's applied topically to the hemangioma, and decided I wanted to try that.

Has anyone here used Timolol? I searched the board and have seen a few mentions of it, but I'm interested in hearing from anyone who's had any experience with it.